Suzuki DT50 runs on 1 only

mcbrid

Recruit
Hi,<br />I'm pretty new to boats and have a Suzuki DT50 from around late 70's (I think).<br />It has always run a little lumpy at idle and never seemed to really get up to full power when running.<br />One day it then stopped running on the lower cylinder although top was fine. SO far I have changed plugs, checked connections, cleaned carbs and it seems as though I get a spark to the plug (looks nice and strong).<br />If the engine is run out of gear both cylinders seem to eventually pick up and run but if I am in forward gear I get nothing from the lower pot.<br />I don't know where to start looking next - any clues please (much appreciated)<br /><br />Thanks

G DANE

Commander
Re: Suzuki DT50 runs on 1 only

Hi<br /> I suggest you try to test the compression first, and let us know the results. It could sound as a leak in cylinderheadgasket. Have you observed waterdrops or miscolour of the spark plug on the cylinder that is missing.<br /><br />You can detect the bad cylinder by pulling the ignition wires one at a time, using a dry cloth to hold the wires, to prevent shock.

D

DJ

Ditto, G Dane. My vote is for a bad head gasket. Not uncommon on 2 and three cylinder Suzie's.<br /><br />If it is leaking water into the cylinder, the spark plug will look very clean as opposed to the one in the cylinder that is operating properly.

Yepblaze

Lieutenant Commander

Dual carb, single coil that fires both plugs at the same time. Check the compression first.<br /><br />Then if that's good, pull the carb(s) or at least the one in question and give it a good cleaning by dissasembling it entirely along with spray carb cleaner and compressed air. If it still has the foam liner inside the hood, remove it as it is probably decaying leaving debris all over the place in there and bits will end up getting into the carbs and plugging the jets.<br /><br />Pay attention to carb sync'ing so they both pull off idle at the exact same time.