2001 Yamaha 50 to 70 carb conversion *done*

will941s

Chief Petty Officer
Alright folks, I'm not a newbie to working on outboards; and have repaired, serviced, rebuilt, modified MANY. My newest challenge was modding a Yamaha 50. I installed a shaved head, ported intake exhaust passages, installed carbon reads, modified the exhaust tuner. Motor is on a 16' havoc and was running about 36 mph before, now running 41 @ 5,800 RPM's. Now to the carbs. Type it in google and there's a forum or two about how 70 carbs "bolt right on".....BS!!! Plain and simple. This post is the solution to that. Your buddy telling you to eBay a set and you'll have a 100 mph Jon with a bolt on mod?...no. Here's how it works. 70 carbs throats are 1/16" bigger then the 50. In turn makes the carb a total of 1/8th " taller all together to accommodate that larger throat, they look the same, but trust me..they're taller. So, here's what you do. Every bit of extra metal on the top of carb 3..needs to be shaved off. Number 2...you need to take a 16th off the top and bottom. And #1 take a 16th off the float bowl. THEN they'll bolt on to your intake plate. The butterfly arms off your 40 or 50 carbs will need to switched to the 70 carbs. Why? The cam contacts the roller on the 40/50 carbs a lot later then the 70. They won't open unless you do this. Next, where the idle screw is on the 70 carbs...there's a brass plug there, drill out the center and pop the plugs out. That way you can access the idle screw, you'll need it. Swap the .150 jets in the 70 carbs with 145's. Port the intake plate to match the new larger carb openings. The pulse hole on the intake plate behind #3 carb, plug it. After all that's done and you get them to fit, back off the idle screws 1 1/2 turn, make it RICH. Why? If your running carbon reeds and it sneezes..your buying new reeds. So make it rich and lean it up as need be to achieve a idle. It's best idle is going to be rough now. Hole shot, mid and top end will blow you away. This