Question about water leaking from powerhead bolts on 98 Yamaha 90 HP TLRY

scisgr8

Seaman Apprentice
Let me state the obvious that I am a novice and looking for some advice. I have a Yamaha 90 HP TLRY, 98 model and it hasn't been started in 7 or 8 years. The last guy I took it to to look at said the engine was locked up and ruined. I've been looking to replace it and started playing around with it a little. Bought new plugs, sprayed starter fluid into the carburetor and to my surprise got the engine to turn over and fire up and then stall out because I have no fuel going to it at the moment (sure I need to somehow clean out the fuel tank since it has been sitting for 7 years).

Many of the bolts to the powerhead have rusted and broke. I noticed when running water through the powerhead that water was leaking from the block where many of these bolts have rusted or broken off. I'm sure this is a problem but don't really know.

I'm attaching some photos of the powerhead and as you can see its in pretty bad shape. I was wondering if I should attempt to back out all the broken bolts and order a new cylinder head assembly and new bolts and give that a try; however I don't want to waste money and time if there is no hope.

If I can repair this motor and these issues, then I can save myself a lot of money without having to repower, because everything else seems to work on the motor.

Any advice would be appreciated.......1. What do about gas tank cleanout since it's been sitting so long. 2. Advice on the water leaking from the block where the bolts have been broken.

flyingscott

Fleet Admiral