Volvo 5.0 GXI-E overheating at high rpm cools at low

2mcneil

Recruit
My 2004 Caravelle 218 Deck Boat with a Volvo Penta 5.0 GXI-E is overheating at high RPMs but will cool at low RPMs. I've replaced the impeller and that didn't fix it. Since it was the holiday weekend and I couldn't get any other parts, I took out the rusty thermostat and left it out and tried again. Out of the water on a hose, it didn't overheat. Put it back in the water and it did. I've checked the temperature with a heat gun tester and nothing seems hotter than about 170. On the water, the gauge shows about 205. What should I look for next? I've removed one of heat risers and it looks good, I haven't taken off the other yet. I have no experience with boat engines, but lots with automotive engines. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

PatinIdaho

Chief Petty Officer
Sounds like a partial plug someplace. Could not tell ya where to look but im sure some one will.
Staying cool in the driveway is because there is no load on the engine. At the lake it's under load and working hard!

dypcdiver

Lieutenant Junior Grade
First place to test is the thermostat housing the 2 outlets that go to the fwd ends of the manifolds can rust up at the housing and also at the manifold end. That would restrict the out flow of cooling water.
You could also disconnect at the manifold the hoses and just for a few seconds run the motor with the hoses in a bucket to check for flow.
Also make sure the outdrive leg inlet holes are clear of weed or debris.

Tail_Gunner

Admiral