Volvo Penta AQ170 Oil Cooler Seal Issue

Hello everyone, first time full boat owner and brand new to this forum. I am a novice when it comes to mechanical issues so here it goes? Bought a Starcraft Islander ?74 with original inline 6 AQ170(?) ? B30 with a 250 outdrive. I have deduced this from the posts on here, internet etc. Acquired the boat with some interesting ?modifications?, the water intake is now via a through hull, the 250 outdrive no longer takes in water (maybe). I am trying to fix a leak at the oil cooler where the return from the water pump is and the gasket is leaking badly (pipe to oil cooler). The way this is currently set up is the return water line is strapped to the deck with a aluminum pipe restraint (for residential plumbing) to keep it from cheating out from back pressure. So, can I replace the seal on the water line (assuming the oil coolers isn?t severely pitted) and how do I do this correctly (doesn?t look press fit based on spare parts on ebay). Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

diesel1960

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Volvo Penta AQ170 Oil Cooler Seal Issue

Hi welcome to forum.
Can you attached photo ,how your pipe to oil cooler is connected ?
Also is interesting how your intake works.
I have two of these engines working in my boat,great engine but getting obsolete.