Re: Winterize a Volvo Penta 5.7GSi in a Four Winns Horizon 210?

scutty

Seaman Apprentice

Hello folks,<br />what are the major steps to winterize a Volvo Penta 5.7GSi in a Four Winns Horizon 210 besides draining the water out of the engine?

Hi, I have an '05 Fourwinns 210 with the 5.0 GXi-E (fuel injection) and an SX 1.6 outdrive. I've been winterizing it myself for a few years now. I leave it in the water from June to Sept. Put a tarp over it for the winter up here in Maine.

-fuel stabilizer: I use fuel stabilizer all year. At the end of the season I add a bit more. If you don't use it regularly put some in before you pull it so the stabilizer has a chance to completely run through the system. If you can't do that make sure you put it in before you run the engine to warm it up before the oil change.
-Hook up water: I have a garden hose fitting on the front left side of the engine.
-Fogging: There are lots of opinions out there about fogging and fogging fuel injected engines is even more unclear. I take off the fuel filter and fill it half with gas and half with 2 stroke oil ( the kind you use for 2 stroke outboards ). Reinstall the filter.
-Warm up: turn the water on and get the engine warm. With that 2 stroke oil in the fuel it will smoke but shouldn't stall. Get it up to 150 deg or so. The engine and fuel system now is nicely lubricated - fogged.
-Kill the engine, stop the water
-Change the engine oil: I use a small 12v elec pump with a small tube stuck into the dip stick tube on the right. Refill the oil. Make sure not to over fill. This method does not completely drain all the oil.
-Replace the Oil filter: Don't forget to lubricate the seal with oil
-Replace the fuel filter: again lubricate the seal.