Major vibrations at higher rpm 1992 volvo penta 250a and 280 outdrive

jaknkoke

Seaman Apprentice
I have been posting for a couple days and through help have solved my last issue. Spun prop hub. Here is a new one. Please help!
At 4000-4300 rpms I get a horrific vibration that makes me immediately drop throttle to idle. Most of the time it goes away at idle and I can accelerate again to below 4000 rpms. At times it does not go away at idle or even when I shift to neutral! I have to turn ignition off and restart. So I am assuming this problem is ahead of, or toward engine from whatever clutch system there is in these things. (I am a complete rookie when it comes to boats and am not a good mechanic by any means with a car! By the way, I took off top plate of outdrive under dipstick and noticed the bearings under that plate have flat spots almost all the way around. Thought I'd mention this. Dont know what these bearings are for or what they may have to do with my problem.
Thanks for any help you may be able to give.
Jaknkoke--IMG_20130824_221526_141.jpgIMG_20130824_221358_997.jpg

Walt T

Lieutenant
Re: Major vibrations at higher rpm 1992 volvo penta 250a and 280 outdrive

Probably a coupler coming apart, but I would think you would hear it too.

jaknkoke

Seaman Apprentice

looks simple enough mello. Appreciate the link. When I pull the upper gear box, what exactly am i looking for? are the flat spots in the larger bearings that I see on top a problem or is that normal in these things? also, does it make sense that I, at times, actually still have the bad vibration when idled all the way down and even when in neutral? Are the u-joints and/or bearings in upper gear box sill moving when I am in neutral?
Thanks again for your input.
Jaknkoke--

captmello

Captain

helmetpin_zps1c0f3619.jpg