1994 volvo penta 250 seems to slip out of gear upon throttle up

jaknkoke

Seaman Apprentice
I am a total rookie boat new owner. Bought what I think is a great deal but after 6 hrs of run time experienced a major vibration at higher speed. Throttled down and it actually kept up while in neutral for a few minutes. Didnt happen again that day. Went out again two days later to investigate a bit and everything seems fine until I throttle up. accelerates fine for a few seconds and then feels like it slips into neutral or something. Rpm's still up but going nowhere. Help appreciated. Would like to take my ten year old salmon fishing. He is very disappointed this weekend.

captmello

Captain
Re: 1994 volvo penta 250 seems to slip out of gear upon throttle up

If you're lucky, it might just be the prop is slipping on its hub. Swap props and see if it helps. Or, if the clutch is slipping it could be a few different things. Have you checked the fluid level in the outdrive? If the level is too high it can cause slippage.

Welcome, btw.:)

jaknkoke

Seaman Apprentice

If you're lucky, it might just be the prop is slipping on its hub. Swap props and see if it helps. Or, if the clutch is slipping it could be a few different things. Have you checked the fluid level in the outdrive? If the level is too high it can cause slippage.

Welcome, btw.:)

Thanks for the reply. I will try swapping props. I am currently looking to buy a owners manual for this motor. Know where I should look? I don't know how or where to check the fluid level for the outdrive. Do these motors/transmissions have transmission fluid? Literally have owned this boat for 48 hrs. Seller not interested in answering questions at all.
Jak--

captmello

Captain

What Engine/outdrive do you have? You only said you have a 250. I that the model number? Those are good motors. If you're not sure post some pics of the engine and outdrive and we can help ID it.

jaknkoke

Seaman Apprentice