1975 volvo AQ225A cracked exhaust riser

dozer59044

Seaman Apprentice
Newbie here,
I searched archives but, have found nothing on my engine(the A model) The exhaust doesn't look like any of the others. Is there any to be found? Can I change it out with a new set up, with out a whole lot of problems? I am in Montana and not finding much info here. Thanks for any advice. I have built a lot of autos but don't have much marine experience.

dozer59044

Seaman Apprentice
Re: 1975 volvo AQ225A cracked exhaust riser

Thanks for input. My exhaust isn't like either one. i will try uploading a pic.1975 fiberform CB 19ft 004.jpg

1975 fiberform CB 19ft 002.jpg
1975 fiberform CB 19ft 006.jpg

dozer59044

Seaman Apprentice

Thanks, it looks close. I will check out. Does any one know if I can update to the newer style center riser? What all would need to be done if I can. I can get the complete kit for around $500. I just dont want to put $300 in my old system just to have an other part fail.
Thanks

dozer59044

Seaman Apprentice

Well, I took a closer look at the riser and it has been welded before on both sides. So this would be the third time it has cracked. The boat is new to me so I am finding and solving issues It looks like the last is the exhaust. I am leaning towards replacing the whole set up and going with a complete kit.(center riser style) Has any one done this before that can give me advice on what set up and install issues. I am wondering how I will have to re-plumb the water lines. Any advice is very much appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited:

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner

Contact Cobe Marine in Pasadena,Md.(on the net)
They were the place to go for ANYTHING Volvo when I lived there.
What you need to look into is possibly replacing with the original stuff?
You've got the old style Chris Craft manifolds.
Cobe should have the stuff you need.
Gonna be costly.

captmello

Captain