2000 Volvo Penta SX-M eats U-Joints and How do you remove them.

jimi

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Two questions.

First
My boat runs 50 hours/year
It has a SX-M 1.79 Prod 3868893 SN 4112087898 driving by a 4.3GL PEFS
Sits in the water between 3 and 4 weeks total out of the year.

I got a new gimbal bearing in 2009 installed by a dealer
In 2011, the u-joints and gimbal were replaced by the local marina. The failure was blamed on a crack in a below that let water in.

Now in 2012 it sounds like the u-joints are going again. I guess I'll have to do it my self this time because both of these guys must be doing something wrong. I have already felt the gimbal bellow and it doesn't seem to have water in it. Any ideas on the source of the failure?

I'll take it apart the weekend after next but because there is 3.5 hours driving between where the boat is and the nearest Volvo-Penta dealer (best source of parts), I want to be ready for anything. I already had an alignment tool made up using the dimensioned sketch posted. I?m going to make up a bearing puller based on one of the threads. Any other suggestions? Is there a gasket kit?

Second (easy) question,
How do you remove the u-joints? With the outside retainers, I imagine that you slid the bearing cups and needles out and that give you just enough room to wiggle them out of the yokes. But with the inside style (what I have), I can't figure it out.

dypcdiver

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: 2000 Volvo Penta SX-M eats U-Joints and How do you remove them.

Second (easy) question
You need to remove the retaining clips and then press them out. Do not hammer them out or you may damage the input shaft bearing. I have in the past used a "G" clamp and a large socket(bigger than the end cap) and small socket(smaller than the end cap) to press them out. Although I do now have a home made press/pusher.
First question