Volvo Penta 2.1 2.3 Automotive Water Pump Circulation Pump AQ125

Status
Not open for further replies.

clay37355

Cadet
Hello Folks. First time post. I recently purchased a 84 Bayliner Capri. It has the Volvo Penta 2.1L AQ125. The water pump was out in it. The circulation pump not the fresh/salt water pump. I check the price of a new water pump and they were all $300 +. I couldnt do this. I did some research and found that the marine aq125 and the automotive 2.1 and 2.3 engines were alot alike. I found out the water pump for 1976 through 1984 2.1 and 2.3 Liter Volvo Cars Were close to the marine ones. I bought one and modified it to work on the aq125. The water pump through a Local part store was $32. I searched on iboats of a write up of someone using the automotive pump but couldn't find one. If this is a re post of someone doing the same thing ... sorry.. Im no engineer or machinist and im sure there are better methods out there. But i basically cut the tube the radiator hose slipped over on the automotive pump and put the connector for the heat separator on the automotive water pump. I also had to block off the small hole in the back of the automotive pump. Here is all i did.

These photos shows both pumps side by side
000_0001.jpg000_0002.jpg000_0003.jpg000_0003.jpg

Here is the area of difference in the two pumps

000_0004.jpg000_0005.jpg

clay37355

Cadet
Re: Volvo Penta 2.1 2.3 Automotive Water Pump Circulation Pump AQ125

I measured the height of the inlet hole on the marine pump from the body to the tip

000_0006.jpg

Then transfer that measurement to the automotive pump and marked where it was to be cut.

000_0007.jpg

I cut the the tip off using a chop saw. A little crooked but that was all i had to cut it

000_0008.jpg000_0011.jpg