Volvo 5.0 with heat exchanger winterizing

Status
Not open for further replies.

SEASPORT22

Recruit
I have a 99 volvo-penta 5.0GI with a DPS outdrive. I'm new to an engine with a heat exchanger cooling system as the last boat I had just had a raw water cooling system. I'm starting to think about winterizing it soon and was wondering about the areas that are cooled with the heat exchanger and the areas cooled by the raw water system. I was thinking that the heat exchanger system is closed and cooled all the internal engine areas like the heads and block as well as the power steering cooler, can't find an oil cooler on mine, (could be there, but I haven't found it yet). That being said, in terms of draining down the engine for winter, can I just drain the raw water system which would include the raw water pump, both hoses that come and go to it, the manifolds and the heat exchanger? also looks like a hose going to the outdrive that would raw water in it to drain. A Clymer manual came with the boat when we bought it and it, in my opinion, is very poor at describing the areas with anitfreeze in them and the areas with raw water in them and what areas need to be drained before freeze up. Also, curious to tricks to run the stabilizing gas through the engine when I shut it down for the year. Do you recommend a shot of fogging oil in the cylinders too? hearing mixed ideas on this.
Thanks.

wellcraft19

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Volvo 5.0 with heat exchanger winterizing

Don has written an excellent post about winterization. Read it!
http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=178695

At the very least, you should "suck up" a (proper) glycol mixture into the sea water circuit to ensure that it does not freeze. I remove the intake hose from the shield, and let if suck out of a buckets that I have inside the boat. Make sure you have enough of glycol so it will flow through and fill entire engine sea water circuit.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus