5.7 GI Knock and surge loss of power

efdog

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hi and thanks in advance to anyone who can point me in the right direction. First off, let me say that I am new to this engine and inboards in General. I have just acquired a 2002 Four Winns 248 Vista with this 280 hp 2002 VP 5.7 GI and a VP DP-SM drive. Aside from a sea trial prior to purchasing (no survey done), I had it out for the first time this weekend. I will try to be as detailed as possible to describe what has happened in hopes that someone can point me in the right direction as to where to start looking for my problem.
Engine started right up and ran great for approx 2 hours at various speeds and RPM's, then the engine surged for about 1 second twice. I throttled down and killed the engine immediately. Checking the engine showed no obvious sign of trouble, but I noticed the battery cables were all loose (hand tightened only). After tightening the cables, I started the engine back up and got underway. Ran smooth for a couple minutes at around 4000 RPM's then came a backfire and gradual loss of RPM's down to approx 2500 or so. I put her into neutral, then very gradually applied throttle. At approx 2100-2500 RPM's I now have a knock (sounds to me like the engine is struggling) The more throttle the louder the knock gets. Under 2100 RPM's and there's no knock and appears to engine be running fine. I should also mention that the knock does not exist in neutral even with throttle bursts. A friend of mine who was with me and is more mechanically inclined than I thought the sound was coming from the top part of the engine, and suggested possibly a stuck valve? He also admittedly was not familiar with the fuel injected engines.
Oil pressure is great (over 40psi) and temps are in normal range (around 175 or so)
I had about 3/4 tank of gas, some from last season.

Any help is greatly appreciated. This forum has saved me thousands over the years!

efdog

Petty Officer 2nd Class