Volvo 275 prop raises in reverse

joleda

Petty Officer 3rd Class
After 4 years I finally got this boat in the water. I am still a real rookie when it comes to boating, but we all had a great time. Runs great until I put it in reverse. I have read all of the posts and call me dumb. But how does this system actually work? Seeing as how I got this boat used and looking at all of the diagrams, it is possible someone put this back together wrong. Looking at all of the diagrams. the shift cable is on the left. Mine is on the right. The shifting rod is on the right and mine is on the left. The coupling rod is on the correct side. Isn't the coupling rod supposed to push against the lock brace when in reverse? If so mine is backwards, then I will have to change the connections at the throttle. I tried to add a picture of parts breakdown from the Volvo store, but I can't figure out how to do it. Please help.
Thanks,
Dave

Ciera2450

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Volvo 275 prop raises in reverse

the infamous reverse kick up.....my 280 did the same thing.....after adjusting the reverse latch and the coupling rod, it works perfectly now.

Search the forum and you will find tons of info.
Using the manual to properly adjust everything is critical.

joleda

Petty Officer 3rd Class

The way mine is hooked up, the coupling rod moves away from the lock brace in reverse.

Ciera2450

Lieutenant Junior Grade

is your shift cable hooked up properly?
It should pull inward for reverse, push out for forward.

captmello

Captain

I'm wondering why it would be hooked up wrong to begin with?

joleda

Petty Officer 3rd Class

shift is inward for forward and outward for reverse. Shift cable is hooked up on the right side and not the left like it should be. It looks like the upper unit was repaired or replaced.

Ciera2450

Lieutenant Junior Grade

there is your problem.....
i believe you can have the shift cable on either side, depending on prop rotation direction...but, i'm not too sure of that.