Volvo Penta SX outdrive leaks oil when trimed up

JesseRuiz

Seaman Apprentice
At the end of the summer I went to pick up my boat from storage and I saw that the outdrive must have lost pressure because it was sitting in the dirt. I forgot to tie it up as you usually do, so I turned on the battery and raised it up, but then I noticed some oil dripping from the outdrive which worried me. I was far away from home so I just tied it up and towed it home for winter. I'm now starting to get the boat ready for summer. I checked my fluids and lowered the unit and ran it on muffs. The next day I went to raise the unit and it went up without any problems but I got a small puddle of oil. The 4 hydraulic lines seem to not leak but there seems to be leak where a 5th small hose connects near the exhaust bellow (I think that's what it is). Forgive me I'm far from a boat mechanic but I'm hoping it just an o-ring I can replace but I'm hoping someone here can point me in the right direction.

Please see the attached photos, they show where I believe the oil is coming from.

By the way what fluid is this hose it carrying?

Boat:
1994 Glastron SSV 175
3.0GL D-MMDA
SX Outdrive

Attachments

• photo263698.jpg
    photo263698.jpg
    374.1 KB · Views: 9
  • photo263699.jpg
    photo263699.jpg
    362.2 KB · Views: 10

HalfFish5087

Petty Officer 1st Class
The "hose" is actually your shift linkage that shifts the outdrive into forward, neutral, and reverse. The only oil that is remotely close to that location is the gear oil in your outdrive and not the trim. Did you check the oil in the outdrive?

JesseRuiz

Seaman Apprentice