290 outdrives tough shifting

Anzezaf

Cadet
Hi,

It's my first time writing here so forgive me if I forget to mention anything.

I have a 1986 ~30ft fairline targa with dual VP AQ290A engines coupled to 290 drives. The shifter levers mounted are I think still the original ones from VP, and its probably worth mentioning that they don't have any interrupt or start-only-in-neutral switches (http://www.volvopentastore.com/mall/...ighres72_2.jpg) .
Now, whenever I try shifting in forward, both levers offer the same little amount of resistance at the shifting point, but they are still relatively comfortable to use, they just need a slighty more confident push and they shift normally.
But shifting in reverse is a totally different matter - they wont move at all. You would literally have to use your whole body weight to get them to shift, and it's really impossible to control the boat shifting normally. When they do jump in reverse gear though, they operate the throttle quite normally, albeit with noticeably more resistance than when in forward gear. When I shift from reverse back into neutral, the levers produce a noticeable bang sound as opposed to a soft click when shifting from forward to neutral. After I get them in reverse the first time, they start shifting into reverse a little bit easier, but they still always require a hefty amount of pushing. When I leave the boat for a week or two, the levers again become harder to shift. The shifting is also becoming harder by the month - I remember it was softer when I first got the boat.

I also started noticing that (rarely) the drives will not shift out of reverse/forward when I put the levers in neutral, and it will take a few retries to get them out of gear.

This is the same on both of the levers, so I am really wondering if the cables could be at fault here. I checked quite a few other threads regarding shifting problems and I couldn't find one that would fit my symptoms.