Help! - Need Assistance in identifying this VolvoPenta Duo Prop unit

hbpaints

Cadet
I need some help identifying the leg unit on my "new to me" boat. I apologize if this has been asked before, I searched but couldn't find any appropriate answers.

Attached are some pictures of the Volvo Penta unit in question. Any help identifying or obtaining a model number would be great. I am hoping to gain some insight into servicing this unit and perhaps locate a manual.

I have searched high and low for id tags, etc... so far no luck.

I am fairly new to boating so have lots to learn and look forward to being educated !

Thanks for any help you guys can provide.

More pictures can be provided if needed. It only let me upload the one. lol

Rob.

leg4.jpg

Looks like the 290DP, the tag should be right behind the shaft bellows below the steering helmet if I'm not mistaken. I have two of those and about to do the same. Good Luck!

hbpaints

Cadet
Thanks so much guys!!!! Much appreciated....

I've got a lot to learn about boats this size, but almost completed my restoration and hoping to drop it in the water (Lake) this summer... Once I'm familiar with everything and worked the bugs out, then I'll head to the ocean.... lol

hbpaints

Cadet
Now that its been identified, I have been doing some research on the type of oil I need to use in it but with a 290 designation it leaves a couple more questions...

Do I use Mineral 80/90W gear oil or fully synthetic?

Thanks.

PatinIdaho

Chief Petty Officer
Manual calls for SAE90 or 80/90W
I would just use a good brand non synth oil.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
If the boat maker is still in business?????
​Send them the hull# and they may be able to send you the original specs??

Do a compression test.
Look under the bellows and check for rust or oil.

Anything marked Volvo. isn't gonna be cheap.
GREAT drives and Chevy motors. Good combo's!

PatinIdaho

Chief Petty Officer