Ted Williams 7.5 hp. dies at high throttle

tdrogers14

Cadet
I have an older Ted Williams 7.5 hp that I have had as a project. I cleaned the carb rebuilt gaskets for carb and "intake" and she starts right up. It will idle just fine but when I get to about 3\4 throttle it dies out and i have no clue where to go from here. Any help is much appreciated!

P.s. I am new to all of this so as I like to say...dummy it down a little for me lol. Thanks again!

brim_buster

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Ted Williams 7.5 hp. dies at high throttle

I have an older Ted Williams 7.5 hp that I have had as a project. I cleaned the carb rebuilt gaskets for carb and "intake" and she starts right up. It will idle just fine but when I get to about 3\4 throttle it dies out and i have no clue where to go from here. Any help is much appreciated!

P.s. I am new to all of this so as I like to say...dummy it down a little for me lol. Thanks again!
Do you have a serial number so we know which mfg. it is?

tdrogers14

Cadet

The only other numbers are on a tag behind the carb. I'll have to look at it when I get home. It is a tecumseh air cooled engine.

brim_buster

Lieutenant Junior Grade

The only other numbers are on a tag behind the carb. I'll have to look at it when I get home. It is a tecumseh air cooled engine.
That helps. Check the duck bill ( fuel pump ) on back side of carb

tdrogers14

Cadet

I just replaced the duck bill about a week ago w a new one. I installed it at an 8-2 angle like a few old forums said to. That is what made the big difference in starting and idling.

brim_buster

Lieutenant Junior Grade

almost sounds like its running out of fuel. I know you said you cleaned the carb, but Im assuming you checked float,needle, seat and float height. And you have a high speed adjustment that you can lean/richen as well. Initial starting should be open 1 turn and adjust from there.

Last edited:

tdrogers14

Cadet