Newbie with a Ted Williams 5.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

deadtrep

Recruit
Hello all, I picked up a Ted Williams 5.5 off of craigslist two nights ago. I took it home and started fooling around with it. I have read that the model # is supposed to be around the transom clamp, however I cannot find it for the life of me. The engine # is 643-14A, and I know the model # is supposed to start with 217.XXXX I need to order an impeller and a carb kit for it, so I might just use someone else's model # that I found in another thread.

I tried starting it off of the gas that was in the tank but it barely ran. I then gave it one squirt of fresh gas down the carb and he sprand to life! If any one has any advice on things I should know about this little motor it would be greatly appreciated. It like to make this old motor a somewhat reliable performer. This is my first time working on an outboard engine, and I cant wait to learn! So if any one has any words of wisdom feel free to leave them here. Also my prop is a little banged up, Im definately gonna need a new one of those.

duke33

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Newbie with a Ted Williams 5.5

Go to Other outboards and surf around. Welcome to iboats.

deadtrep

Recruit

Could someone tell me how to drain the gear fluid from the lower end and what the fill and vent holes are for? Thank you.

frank7ptbk

Recruit

Hope someone answers because I have the same motor and questions you do. Questions about the FILL and VENT screws and what are you supposed to fill it with and how much.

If you need a Model # mine is 217.5943.2

5.5 hp Sears Ted Williams

I think mine is a 1973.

I just mix 4 ounces of 2 cycle oil per 1 gallon regular unleaded gas and seems to run fine.

Frank7ptbk

deadtrep

Recruit