5hp Air Cooled Briggs and Stratton Problem

Billy Troy

Recruit
Hello folks. I am owner of a 5hp Briggs and Stratton boat motor. It is air cooled. I am not good with motors at all, and know very little about them. The motor has worked great for me for the most part. Yesterday I went out in rough conditions on the lake in my little Jon Boat. The motor stopped working on me after a big wave hit the motor from behind as I was slowing down. It would not start again. I floated to a dock and pulled the motor onto the dock. As I was doing that, a lot of water dumped out of the motor. The motor then later started. I went out again, and the same thing happened. I could not start it right away. I dumped some water out of the motor while out on the lake, but it still wouldn't start. I got a tow back home and put the boat up :eek:. As I was bringing the motor up a fair amount more water dumped out again. I have not tried to start it since then. Water has never dumped out of the motor before.

Any ideas or suggestions? Thanks a lot guys!

fucawi

Banned
Re: 5hp Air Cooled Briggs and Stratton Problem

First keep it plug up at all times its not on the boat. Drain engine oil and replace ..only SAE 30 no multigrade . Pull over many times with the plug out . Then it should start . You may need to drain or remove the carburetter float bowl as you may have water in that. Blow with compressed air if you have it .Sounds like you may have filled the exhaust silencer with water so take that off and drain it or it will go back into the engine and wet the plugs and corrode the internals .Let it run for about 20 min when it starts to dry it out and remove any moisture

M

mrcrabs

Drain engine oil and replace ..only SAE 30 no multigrade