1951-54 Gale Buccaneer D10B help

Alsdad

Seaman Apprentice
I bought this for $40 sight unseen. it came to me unassembled but the cowlings are all there. I'm a novice but I think we can get this bad boy running. Couple of issues/problems. 1) there apparently is a cable that goes from the gear shift lever down through and connects to the linkage, I guess. Right now when you move the gear shift lever and spin the flywheel, it still turns the prop. There is no cabel attached but I think there must supposed to be one there and when you move the lever it pulls up on the linkage taking it out of gear to neutral. Does anyone know?
2) How to you get the magneto off? I was able to get the flywheel off but how do you get the magento off? The spark plug wires are completely shot and need to be replaced but that requires getting the magneto off.
By the way, haven't hardly turned a wrench in my life but bought the book "Cheap Outboards" and this forum and feel really confident. thanks for all y'all do.

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1951-54 Gale Buccaneer D10B help

The cable attaches to the neutral lever. Raising the lever pulls the cable upward. The bottom end of the cable is attached to a trip lever. Pulling the cable tilts the trip lever, and it then interferes with a tab on the upper end of the clutch spring. That causes the clutch spring to start to unwind, which makes it expand in diameter, losing its grip on the clutch hub. That's neutral. Lowering the neutral lever lowers the cable, tilting the trip lever the other way, freeing it from the clutch spring, which relaxes and contracts in diameter, re-gripping the clutch hub. That's forward gear. Note: It will not "shift" to neutral unless the motor is running, or at least cranking it over. As soon as it stops rotating, it goes back into gear.

Reverse is by spinning the whole motor around backwards.