Water in oil; good compression; 2 white plugs

bullsey398

Recruit
Hello,
I have a 2000 Moomba Boomerang (low profile, direct drive ski boat), with a 350 Indmar conversion (carbureted). Engine has 475 hours on it. I am the 2nd owner, so I don't know all of the history, but it has been winterized properly since I've owned it.

Problem:

I have water in the oil (changed several times), but the engine seems to run fine, (perhaps a little rough at times... but not bad.).

The oil level increases about 1 qt... after running for several hours.

Tests/ observations so far:

I've checked compression and all cylinders are between 180 - 185 psi.

2 spark plugs (front 2 on starboard side) appear lighter (white-ish, but clean) than the others. All others look fine (tan and clean).

The exhaust flap on the same side (starboard) appears to not seal well and has signs of rodents chewing on it.

Questions:

- Does the water in oil sound like an engine problem... or possibly back flow through the exhaust?

- Is there a test I can perform to help ID the cause of the water in oil?

- If I continue to change the oil frequently... will I risk damage to the engine if I continue to run until fall?

Thanks for your help!

Greg

alldodge

Staff member
compression and all cylinders are between 180 - 185 psi.

That's pretty high for a 350, should be closer to 150 psi.

Getting water in the motor is bad and will destroy it. With the two plugs being whiter then the rest my first guess is you have a blown head gasket. That said I don't see getting the same compression on those two cylinders as the rest.

Are you checking the compression cold or warm?

You should have a transmission cooler, do you also have an oil cooler?

Bondo

Staff member
Questions:

- Does the water in oil sound like an engine problem... or possibly back flow through the exhaust?

- Is there a test I can perform to help ID the cause of the water in oil?