First oil change using suction pump on 2.3 problems

nedc

Cadet
I didn't get a chance to change the oil on my (rebuilt and run about 10 hours since) OMC 2.3 when it was really warm. yesterday, it was about 60 degrees so i put the muffs on and ran the motor for about 10 minutes. Temp only got to 125-130 but i figured the oil was warm enough to flow. Hooked up the Shurflo to the electric drill and spun it up- nothing- no oil coming out the other end. I varied speeds and after a few minutes, gave up. This is my first time using this setup. Was i doing it wrong? Oil not warm enough (15-40 weight)? I'm temped to just undo the dipstick fitting and let it drain out the bilge hole- messy, but I KNOW that would work. Don't want to let this thing sit all Winter with the old oil in it. Any ideas?

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner
Re: First oil change using suction pump on 2.3 problems

Get a pump that threads onto the dipstick fitting.

BMGB2873.JPG

Drill pumps suck.

Last edited:

Lou C

Supreme Mariner

Right, I have a vaccum pump and it worked much better when I fabbed up an adaptor to screw on the dipstick tube. Your engine should be able to get to 160* on the water hose if the thermostat is not sticking open slightly. Put in a new stat if you have not yet done so.

nedc

Cadet

Forgot to mention that the pump I am using does thread onto the dipstick fitting ...and the thermostat is new, reads 160 out on the water.

81 Checkmate

Lieutenant

My first thought would be it's sucking air and not letting it prime.

Check your hose and conections.

cr2k

Captain

The drill motor pumps have light weight vanes and will just fold over if they can't suck. You need to run your boat at least 20 min to get oil warmed up enough.

KD4UPL

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Is 15-40 really the right oil? I used to have a boat with that engine and I don't remember it taking anything that heavy.

alldodge

Staff member