Which transom seal is better-Mallory or Sierra?

I have an 84 Seaswirl with an OMC 800. I would like an opinion as to which is better quality.
Thanks, Andy
I am not sure if the Lund is worth repairing, but this Seaswirl is just about to get wet.

Nivekt

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Which transom seal is better-Mallory or Sierra?

Neither. Go with the GLM 86710. After 5 years, 3 of which it sat out in the sun, it is still soft and pliable like the day it was new. Here is the best price for it: OMC Stringer Transom Seal 909527

Redrig

Master Chief Petty Officer

yeah, dont go aftermarket if at all possible. Buy that one in Howards link

OK. I did not know factory parts were still available. Thanks, I am an automotive/truck mechanic by trade and always use factory parts if available. I am new to i/o power boats, had an old 62 Southwind w/ a 75 Evinrude but a tree destroyed it back in 2000. I can get factory parts from CrowleyMarine.com, has anyone done business with them? The seal is $141 with freight. And they are near Denver , I am in Oregon so it is 3 days freight.
Thanks for talking to a newby.
:D

So I am going to order an oem seal. I was nervous about stretching a $140 seal over the out drive so I did a trial run with the used seal from the Lund. It appears to be an original 16 hole from 1976, it went fine. I will smooth out a few rough spots on the leading edge of the lower housing and lube the new seal well before installation. Thanks for the replies, fired the engine yesterday and it runs great on 4 year old gas. I can buy non-ethanol premium fuel here in town and plan to change the filters before it goes in the water. I need to repair the seat mounts and it will be ready to go.
:watermelon:

Boomyal

Supreme Mariner