Shifter / throttle cable frozen

Giantology

Recruit
Hi there,
I was hoping you guys could give me a hand with something I hope is not a huge problem. I have a 1988 bayliner with a 2.3 liter ford engine and an OTC cobra out drive. The boat has not been used in over a year and now I can not get it to go in to forward or reverse. The shifter moves fine in neutral but when trying to put in gear it barely moves forward and does not even budge in reverse. One of my customers was telling me the cable is frozen and it is probable at the top of the out drive. I am new to working on marine applications. I can handle the motor because it is like a car engine but after that I am inexperienced. How would I get to the cables. If anybody has any pictures with instructions that would be amazing. Thank you in advance.

airdvr1227

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Shifter / throttle cable frozen

The cable isn't frozen. What the cable is connected to is frozen. I'm sure someone will be along shortly to give you additional information.

Bondo

Staff member

Hi there,
I was hoping you guys could give me a hand with something I hope is not a huge problem. I have a 1988 bayliner with a 2.3 liter ford engine and an OTC cobra out drive. The boat has not been used in over a year and now I can not get it to go in to forward or reverse. The shifter moves fine in neutral but when trying to put in gear it barely moves forward and does not even budge in reverse. One of my customers was telling me the cable is frozen and it is probable at the top of the out drive. I am new to working on marine applications. I can handle the motor because it is like a car engine but after that I am inexperienced. How would I get to the cables. If anybody has any pictures with instructions that would be amazing. Thank you in advance.

Ayuh,... Welcome Aboard,.. Back in the motorbox, you'll find where the controller cables go too...

1 to the carb, 'n 1 to the shift plate...