Need validation for new project boat 1995 FW 240 horizon OMC Cobra 5.8L

anthonysjo

Seaman
View attachment 172724

Hello all,

I just acquired a 1995 Four Winns 240 Horizon with a 5.8L OMC Cobra. I have done some reading up but also having a hard time finding exactly what I am looking for and I am running short on time as it is time to winterize. I plan to order the service manual for the motor and drive but have not been able to find one other than an online version so if anyone can tell me where to find what I need I would appreciate it. I will put my thoughts down on what I am thinking of doing and please let me know if I am missing anything or if my plan should be changed. I am new to OMC and somewhat new to Inboards in general, although I have done some work on Merc before.

I have a set of muffs and just borrowed a oil extractor so my first plan is to warm the motor for 10 to 15 min after putting fuel stabilizer in the fuel tank then pump the oil out and change the filter. I plant to use Castrol 10W-40 as it appears there is no real must have when it comes to the oil. Once complete with that I will pull the freeze plugs and drain all the water (specifics on how amny plugs, location, and what hoses would be helpful. I will then pull the top hose off the thermostat and fill with RV antifreeze until it comes out the drive. Do I put the plugs back in before filling with antifreeze or just leave them out till summer? The motor is fuel injected so not sure how I can fog it so any ideas there would be helpful. Also plan to change the gear lube in the lower unit with 2 quarts Mobil 1 75W-90. If someone could let me know the exact fill procedures I would appreciate it at it sounds like they are different than a Merc where you fill from the bottom.