1984 omc 2.5l ignition/coil problem

trikeman72

Seaman
ok first off i am new to I/O boats. i am trying to get my engine started and had a no crank and no spark problems.

after going thru the troubleshooting for cranking i located the problem in the slave solenoid.. put bypaqss wire on and cranks with key (woohoo me)

i tried going thru the ignition section and reading thru it and going step by step i know the following...

1... power at the + post with key on.
2. volts is 8.6 after resistor wire.... although when i tested lastnight it is reading 10 not sure if old resistor wire is bad?
3 i removed all wires from coil and tried to test for continuity as per troublshooting thread and found there isnt any if i am checking right?? i question if i am doing it right because i have tried 3 coils 2 used and 1 new and none of them test continuity... i am not an electrical guru by no means so wording will reflect that...
i turn digital multimeter to the setting where it "beeps" when you touch the two leads from tester together.... put one on the tower of coil and touch other to either small terminals on the coil with no wires attached to coil actually holding coil in my hand... nothing... this means coil is bad yes?? i cant get why i have had 3 coils with no continuity especially a brand new one....
also... i was going to get a ballaast resistor to install on motor so i could do away with the ancient inline resistor wire purple from key switch. the one wire that comes from alternator also needs a resistor so i was going to put in a ballast resistor with 1.5ohms to be able to use it for both wires needing a resistor. will this work??

also someone please tell me what the deal is with this coil and what i have to do to fix if in fact coil isnt bad..or if it is i can get a replacement but is that continuity test correct?? i can have seller test b4 mailing me coil :) least i know its good b4 i start i dont know.