1987 OMC 4.3 liter distributor replacement.

hayward6

Seaman Apprentice
Hello,
I apologize if I'm posting this wrong, I'm just getting started out on this forum.

I have a 1987 Chaparal with an OMC cobra outdrive and 4.3L GM engine. I guess they original came with a point ignition system and at some point a previous owner updated it to electronic. The other day I was headed out to do some fishing and it stalled out, and then got me back to the ramp running on maybe half the cylinders. I got home and pulled the distributor cap to find that all of the magnets around the rotor flew apart... They were originally taped down with a piece of green tape.

I'm having an awful time trying to track down this replacement part they call a "magnetic assembly" or something to that effect. Its meant to slip over the cam and act as a spacer between the new pickup plate and the old rotor.

Questions are these... Can this be purchased? If it can't what options do I have for buying a used distributor? I went to the junk yard but quickly found that the 1987 4.3 gm truck had a completely different setup... Does anyone know if I can get a one wire HEI distributor that will fit and work properly?

Thank you,

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1987 OMC 4.3 liter distributor replacement.

Any aftermarket electronic distributor or Pertronix(maybe what you have) type setup inside your current distributor will require some sort of modifications to allow your ESA to work.

The DELCO EST is a good replacement. You would want to get a CDI ESA to replace your current ESA or rewire your shift switch to act like a Mercruiser system to interrupt the spark at the distributor.

hayward6

Seaman Apprentice

Any aftermarket electronic distributor or Pertronix(maybe what you have) type setup inside your current distributor will require some sort of modifications to allow your ESA to work.