100% newbie omc cobra control problems.

Almar

Recruit
So I'm new to owning a boat like this with that said I have recently purchased a 1992 seaswirl has a 4.3 cobra engine.
I had it out a few times and everything seemed to operate correctly altho it seemed stiff to shift from forward into neutral and reverse.
I was out yesterday and now she the boat is running in the water I cannot shift into neutral from forward .
It just doesn't go , things I have read and noticed :the rod are too high try are around 2000 reps and I believe I read they should be around 600
When I turn the engine off I can now put the controls back to neutral but once the boat was running I can only go forward. I have spent time scrolling thru post and it is quite overwhelming I must admit I could use some pointing in the right direction.
I did leave the back tarp off and had lots of water in the boat I read that could cause a problem.
Willing to learn just need a push .
Oh and also when it fist happened when I tried to go in reverse and the boat started accelerating?

Lou C

Supreme Mariner
You need a mechanic before someone gets hurt. DO NOT run that boat like it is, you will either hit a dock or ruin the outdrive.
​If you do a search on my user name you will see I have posted many times about proper OMC Cobra shift cable adjustment and idle speed. I don't have the patience to re-type it all so do a search, and you will learn....

southkogs

Staff member
Sounds like you're fighting a few different battles together. If you're idling too high, that might be affecting your shifting - or the cable adjustment like Lou is suggesting.

I'd fix the idling first.

What tarp are you talking about that is letting water into your boat? There shouldn't be water in the the boat at all.

:welcome:

JJBoatr

Petty Officer 2nd Class