1988 4.3 OMC Cobra I NEED HELP IM NEW TO BOATS. Thank you Fellas!!!

Pedrocasas

Seaman
I have been working on boats for years. I work on upholstery.
But I'm new to Engines.

I just bought a 1988 Seaswirl Sierra Cuddy.
Its a I/O Engine. 4.3 Cobra

The previous owner never took ran more than 15 miles per hour. He was to afraid.
Right now the carburetor is rebuilt, fresh tune up, new spark plugs and spark plug cables.

I took it out yesterday 2/12/2017, I had choked the engine. Took us 1 hour to start the engine.
After that we turn it off and on and turned on right away. "we were not experience with a electrical fuel pump"

Ok, So I ran it up to 40 miles per hour, after a good 30 mins It started smelling like burning Rubber. A bit of smoke.
We noticed that the hose clamps were sticking out a lot from (THAT PART CIRCLED IN RED) this is not my own picture sorry but same part.
Im guessing the clamps were super hot that it fried the RED fuel line coming from the gas tank.

Im not sure what the part circled in yellow is called.

But there was hot water leaking a bit from the house and where that part connect. the water was hot too. (is that normal?)

Any suggestions on what I can do? or what caused the hose clamps to get hot.

The smoke would start coming out again, once I would hit more than 20 miles per hours. Under 20 there would be no smoke.

Also, Gas had been in the tank for months already, do I need to clean it out or somet

Attachments

• DSCN0171.jpg
    DSCN0171.jpg
    100.9 KB · Views: 1

southkogs

Staff member
Welcome aboard -

First guess is that ya' overheated. What was your temp gauge reading? Check your water flow through the engine, and I would look at the impeller and replace.

shaw520

Chief Petty Officer