87 ford 2.3l OMC cranks to TDC and stops

Mgsissonvt

Cadet
Newbie here, both on the forum and working on boats. I've done plenty of work on vehicles and know my way around decently.

Here is the scenario with way more information than anyone should need. I know this is not a coveted boat but it came with the trailer I bought and I'd like to get it running. The boat has not been run for a couple of years. The last owner said the timing belt had broken and they could never get it figured out after that.

Motor: 1987 2.3l ford OMC cobra i/o. I tried to specify everywhere but I've only been putting marine parts on this boat.

Here is what I have done.
1. Installed new marine timing belt: Lined up the cam/crank at TDC and verified by removing the #1 and #4 plug that they were both at TDC. There were no marks on the oil slinger wheel and somewhere on here I saw that it's position is irrelevant. After installing I rotated 720 degrees and everything was aligned properly.

2. Set the Distributor to fire on #1 at TDC on #1 cylinder. (I noticed the position is not the same as some of the factory pictures, but it should fire #1 at TDC and also is in the correct firing order). The distributor was moved and re-positioned to get it lined up right.

3. Removed and cleaned the carb, although it did not look bad at all.

4.Tried to start the motor. It turned over but very very slowly. Turned over 3-5 times with no issues.

5.Identified that there was no fuel getting sucked into the carb via the fuel pump. Removed the fuel pump, cleaned and replaced the gasket and re-installed. I'm using an auxiliary fuel tank with good fuel and a line run into the fuel separator.

6. Tried to start the motor. It turned over slowly. Turned over 3 times with no issues.