Carburetor Rebuilt. Now boat won't start?

I just rebuilt the carburetor on my OMC Cobra 2.3 Liter. It has a GM carburetor 2 barrel, dual jet, with electric choke. I put it back together and it will not start. I tried dumping a little gas in the carb? Still didn't start? I'm not sure what else to try.
Also, it never had a problem starting before. It always started up first try. The reason for the rebuild is that I was unable to go very fast or put the boat under a load without it cutting out. I wanted to replace the accelerator pump.
Any thoughts?

CV16

Chief Petty Officer
Did you lightly seat the mixture screws and then back them out 1 1/2 turns as a starting point?

Yes, I seated the mixture screws then backed them out 1 and 1/2 turns. However, I have never done this before, and I am not real sure at what point seating is?
Another update. Gas is getting to the carburetor from the fuel pump. But, it does not appear that gas is getting into the barrels. I had my wife try to start the engine, and I could not see gas shooting into the barrels of the carbs. What could be keeping the gas from shooting into the throat? I know that the jets are really clean from the rebuild. I pushed a needle through them and totally cleaned them with cleaner.

CV16

Chief Petty Officer
Maybe the needle and seat are stuck. Did you make sure the float height is correct?

gm280

Supreme Mariner
A couple things stands out to me, First, did you install the float in the correct position and not upside down. It wouldn't be the first time folks have done that. Second when you cleaned the carb, was all the passages open and clear? Did the float have a little piece of wire attached to it and the needle as well? That helps open the needle from the seat and not stick when the fuel bowl is empty or low. And finally, can you spray some fuel into the carb venturi to see if it starts? JMHO

Another update.
I checked for spark. I have spark.