Mercury 25 hp motor removal and replacement

seanymph85

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I have a 1985 Sea Nymph 14R aluminum V-hull boat with a 1987 Mercury 25 hp motor on it. I need to find a way to remove and replace the motor so I can work on the bunk boards. I have never done this before and need suggestions to do it safely and insure the motor is back exactly where it needs to be on the transom. I assume the motors are to be centered on the transom.

I can possibly use some type of winch arrangement which I don't have presently along with the open ceiling supports in my garage. I would be uncertain what support points to use on the motor so as to prevent any breakage from lifting the weight of the motor off of the boat. There is electrical wiring attached which with the exception of removing it from the battery towards the bow of the boat I would be uncertain of how to remove and replace properly on the motor end itself.

If anyone has suggestions how one person can remove this motor so I can better position my boat on the trailer or remove it to work on the bunk boards and likely replace the two different types of existing brackets with swivel brackets I would certainly appreciate hearing from you regarding your experience with this concern. :joyous:

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member
Re: Mercury 25 hp motor removal and replacement

That motor weighs 105 lbs. Unbolt it and left it off. When you go to re-install it.....us a tape measure and mount it equal distance from the sides of the transom. It is really easy.

JimS123

Fleet Admiral

I have the same boat and also had a 25 on her at one time. I built a stand out of 2x4's for use when it was off the boat. The motor was also bolted to the transom thru the motor's mounting holes, so relocation is a piecocake. (if yours isnt bolted it should be!)