A How to... Installation of CMC PT-130

Piece715

Senior Chief Petty Officer
I'm about to tackle this part of my restore and as always have been doing some research and asking around for help hints and suggestions. (Mods if you think this post may do better in another section please feel free to move.)

These units are fairly popular but I have no experience with them. All the threads I've looked at say follow the manufacturer's instructions and it'll roughly take 4 hours. I figured a "how to thread' could prove beneficial.

Suggestions for posts:
1) Links to other threads with useful info on mounting/wiring
2) Helpful hints and suggestions for ease of mounting (pics always welcome)
3) Positioning for performance
4) Hardware used (bolts, nuts, sealant, etc)
5) Best method for re-mounting outboard
6) Any other pertinent info

Please refrain from compatibility questions as I would like to keep this an informative thread for anyone wishing to tackle the installation/wiring of one of these units.

I'll start with a link to the PT-130 Owners manual
http://www.cook-mfg.net/PDFs/PT-130 Owners Manual.pdf

Piece715

Re: A How to... Installation of CMC PT-130

Here was a useful article for help with wiring originally posted by rsimmons42
http://www.arcomarine.com/xhtml/tech tilt trim motor tips.pdf

Helpful Post by SuzukiChopper..
The relay should have the poles labeled... 85, 86, 87, 87A (or 87Q), and 30.

Relay 1
30 - One wire from the PT130
87A - Ground
87 - Constant 12v
85 - Ground
86 - Power from one On position of your switch

Relay 2
30 - OTHER wire from the PT130
87A - Ground
87 - Constant 12v
85 - Ground
86 - Power from the OTHER On position of your switch

When the switch is pushed one way it will switch one relay to provide power to one wire of the PT130. When the switch is released, it defaults to ground. Push the switch the other way, polarity is reversed.

Original thread of this info