Help with repair cost estimate?

terrtbone

Recruit
I have a 1989 Glastron Futura with the mercruiser alpha one sterndrive. It started leaking gear oil out of it when I put it away for the winter. I am not a mechanic nor do I have the proper tools to do it myself, So I took it to the boat shop to fix it. They called me back and told me they had the lower unit apart but the upper failed the pressure test.
The mechanic said to do this was quite extensive and would take 5 hours labor and the total cost with parts to get it back together would be $1000.
This sound high to me especially when I have seen replacement sterndrives for $1300 to $1500. Does this sound like a normal estimate?
I am only looking for a price range. I live in Washington state.
​Thanks for any advice.

Bt Doctur

Supreme Mariner
the shop needs to give you a better explanation on what needs to be done.

terrtbone

Recruit
The lower seals and pump are shot due to overheating. This also took out the upper seal. They Said that the pressure test failed on the upper unit and the upper seal had to be replaced. That is where we are at. I have not given them the go ahead.

Bt Doctur

Supreme Mariner
the upper carrier seal is around $14 ,takes about an hour to install. the upper shaft seals are around $20 or so. once the gears are out ,takes 10 minutes to install
them, the water pump base comes with all the seals installed. no reason to disassemble a lower unit for seals

terrtbone

Recruit
This didn't really answer the question. you tell me the parts are inexpensive, but I was asking about the total for a shop to disassemble / reassemble upper and lower section with parts, time and labor. Just a ballpark figure. I am just a longtime boater not a mechanic. You can call me an idiot, that's OK. This boat shop must also think I am. This is part of my research to make an educated decision.

Tnstratofam

Commander