Service Labor Charge - Gimbal, bellows, etc.

Doubledog

Cadet
Looking at having my '00 Alpha One Gen II gimbal bearing replaced as well as the bellows. Received a service quote from a big dealership in town (near Gulf Shores) for labor of 7-8 hours. At $108 an hour, thats a tad rich but rather them do it than me.

Boat is freshwater use all its life until we bought it three weeks ago so there is almost no corrosion as I know stuck bolts can play a factor.

What do you estimate for an out the door price for parts and labor? Oh, just in case.... U-joints as well.

Thanks in advance,
Jr.

dmanmtl

Seaman
Wow - that seems like a lot of time - I did the main bellows, bearing etc. by myself in under 3 hours - first time. On an alpha 1 gen 2....and I am not a mechanic (although pretty mechanically inclined)...I had to stop a few times to review the videos and other documentation I had collected on this job too.

Last edited:

Doubledog

Cadet
We need to talk one day if you don't mind as I'm really thinking about doing the job myself. What do you think about this kit here for helping with the installation? I can borrow/rent a slide hammer from the local auto parts store and buy a flex shaft to tighten the rings outside the bellows. Lastly, I would build a stand for the outdrive to slide on and stabilize while removed. For the parts themselves, I would order OEM bellows (as I've heard aftermarket don't fit just right sometimes), but go aftermarket for the bearing and seal.

Any more advice you can offer is very much appreciated.

Doubledog

Cadet
What do you think about this kit? Wonder where the bearing seal is at or does it need one? If I order this one, I'll go with the upgraded Sierra bearing and order the bellow expansion tool.

Please advise as I'm all ears.

thumpar

Admiral