Newbie Help - 1984 Beachcraft170 Mirage IO

timjor

Recruit
Hi

I am new to boating and have a 1984 Beachcraft 170 Mirage (I think!). It is a 17' open bow IO runabout with a V6 OMC engine. I love boating and being on the water, but have a couple of newbie questions.

1. Can I start the engine while it is parked on a trailer at my house? If so, what is the procedure for doing this?

2. What other maintenance should I be doing as a boat owner? I had the engine and trailer serviced, and plan on doing so every year prior to the boating 'season', but what else should I be doing?

3. Also, the steering is VERY stiff, and I was wondering the best way of 'luricating the steering cables?

Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Tim

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Newbie Help - 1984 Beachcraft170 Mirage IO

with a V6 OMC engine

Ayuh,... Welcome Aboard Tim,...

I believe 84 is a Stringer drive....

Others will be along to explain what to look for, 'n how to fix it...
I don't do OMCs, muchless the Stringer drives...

pvmtsux

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Hi

I am new to boating and have a 1984 Beachcraft 170 Mirage (I think!). It is a 17' open bow IO runabout with a V6 OMC engine. I love boating and being on the water, but have a couple of newbie questions.

1. Can I start the engine while it is parked on a trailer at my house? If so, what is the procedure for doing this?
You need to get some flush muffs. Drop your trim all the way down, connect the muffs, turn on the hose, and start her up. It's not advised to run WOT, this is just to flush your outdrive and to check if she runs well. Keep in mind things can change in the water, there is no load in your driveway.

2. What other maintenance should I be doing as a boat owner? I had the engine and trailer serviced, and plan on doing so every year prior to the boating 'season', but what else should I be doing?