How Many Inboard Engines come with Fuel Injection?

Wayne 100

Cadet
I am curious.

1. How Many Inboard Engines come with Fuel Injection?
2. What year did they start offering Fuel Injection on inboards?
3. Are most Throttle Body Injection?

Thank you, Tony

Bondo

Staff member
Ayuh,.... Welcome Aboard,.... Both Efi, 'n Mpi are used,.... since the '90s,.....

Wayne 100

Cadet
Thank you. I'm a retired mechanic. I happen to have a 60's inboard setup that I vision putting MPI on. However, I have no real boating knowledge, other than I know most if not all inboard compartments have a fan system to vent / clear out the closed engine compartment; from any fuel odors, before you start the engine(s). Take care and Thank you again. Tony

Bondo

Staff member
I happen to have a 60's inboard setup that I vision putting MPI on

Ayuh,.... What motor,..??

It'll probably be easier to swap in a more recent motor, than to put Mpi on yer ole motor,...

Wayne 100

Cadet
No Title

Ayuh,.... What motor,..??

It'll probably be easier to swap in a more recent motor, than to put Mpi on yer ole motor,...

Thank you for the advice. Sadly, it is not an opinion for the setup I have and you did not have enough information to know this. No other engine has been made to replace this very unique setup. It is an Air-Cooled specially built Corvair engine, that stands on end with the prop going out the bottom of the boat. I have a second boat that I hope to some day do up as a MOD with today's technology.

Attachments

• photo266699.jpg
    photo266699.jpg
    54.7 KB · Views: 0
  • photo266700.jpg
    photo266700.jpg
    54.8 KB · Views: 0
  • photo266701.jpg
    photo266701.jpg
    64.7 KB · Views: 0

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner
Howdy,

Yeah, I don't think you'll be doing EFI on that corvair nor would it get you any real benefit anyway.

EFI is great if a boat comes with it, Or you can find an engine already equipped with EFI, Adding it later is pretty much not worth it.

Wayne 100

Cadet
Howdy,