Carb. Repair vs Replace

TexasRanger101

Recruit
hey all, kinda of a beginner question, I am new to the Boating world and a young handy man. I like to do jobs myself and don't mind if they take a bit of time (I can do anything from rack and pinion to stereos to cam shafts) But I have never played with a carburetor. I have a 1979 Webbcraft with a 5.8 Ford Mercruiser. (model: 990261s1 see more in attached photo). I cant find a kit for it and I don't know exactly what parts I would need to do it I kinda get the process of it but want another opinion. Is it worth it to take it into a shop or should I try it myself? Thank you in advance for reading and any advice or hints to where I can get a kit is or if there is a kit is welcome, thanks!

Attachments

• model and serial.jpg
    model and serial.jpg
    294.5 KB · Views: 0

Captaincrisp

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Id say try it for yourself for sure. Shop time will kill you on somthing like that. It will look forein to you as you take it apart but by the time you got it back together you will be ready to take on any carb. Just a few things to pay attention to along the way a carb rebuild kit is all you need. You got it in the bag

Captaincrisp

Petty Officer 2nd Class
You need to find number off of carb before rebuild marine carbs normally are origainal unlike older molested automotive carbs but its worth finding the id markings off carb. Then finding rebuild kit from there so your sure you have the correct kit. You got this kne just take your time

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
Ford used a 4bbl Holley carb

Holley renew kit #703-47

Patfromny

Lieutenant Junior Grade