1984 Mercury Black Max 150hp questions !

Heywire77

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I just purchased a 1984 Mercury black max 150hp outboard from a person I knew that had mainly spent most of its life in the garage , runs great and has even good compression on all cylinders ! My question are my boat is rated for a 200hp I have a 1997 Ranger 518svs Comanche I'm installing it on and I would like to up the horsepower some more ! Any tips would be great also I have been a mechanic for over 20 years mainly automotive and small engine and the last 7 years has been outboards and inboards mainly just servicing them and repairs , I was never into souping up motors or anything so could use some help in this area maybe some tricks for this motor ! I have heard afew things about having the heads shaved and running higher octane gas if so how much increase in horsepower could I gain guessing ? Also I heard something about the reeds if anyone knows anything about this please tell ! Also I seen somewhere that there was a bulletin years ago for the jets on my carbs from a 82 jet to a 84 jets anyone heard anything about this and were to find them or would they come in the standard carb rebuilt kits ? Also what is actually the difference in the 150hp and the 200hp that year because I have looked up parts and it shows a lot of the parts are the same ? Thanks for any help

Dukedog

Captain
if '84 150 its gonna be a 2.0 motor.. not a good candidate ta hot rod.. especially ona Ranger.. your gonna get a lotta "do this and do that" but most will be jus plain 'ole bs. for your rig....ie: there's not a 2.0 150 production motor made with those size mains!

if tha motor idles/runs good and is healthy with good compression I wouldn't touch it.. jus know that its not gonna be a barn burner on tha Ranger.. ya gonna need ta do some experimentation with props and set up ta maximize your performance...jmo