1995 Mercury 225 efi 3.0 black max out of the hole problem

mdixon63

Recruit
This is my first time to ever post on any boat site and looking for some help with my motor. As stated in the topic i have a 95 mercury 225 efi with a quicksilver torrent 14 5/8x25 prop on a 20 ft nitro and when you crank the motor it idles and never shuts off but when you try and take off it wont break over and come out the hole. Its only turning 2500 to 2800 rpm out the hole and when I told someone to walk and sit on the bow it finally broke over and started to gain rpm and speed. The highest rpm i got was 5100 rpm and 64.6 mph. I changed the spark plugs and the fuel filter. I was told maybe it was the reeds. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner
Your last numbers, 5100 at 64 says you are running a little high (for me) pitch as does your hole shot, but not much. Engine is rated 5000-5500 per my data so you are really not that bad. Personally I liked to run at the top or a little over which the engine liked and the hole shot was improved......6000 was my sweet spot at max trim and WOT....max trim defined as pushed out as far as you can go before the speed starts to fall off and rpms increase. Where you have your trim positioned during the hole shot is very important too. Not always best to have it tucked it all the way in. See below.

I think you would benefit from porting your prop and a prop shop could do that for you for a reasonable amount. Question is how large a hole. 3/8" comes to mind as a good place to start on that rig. HP is (torque x rpm)/5252. Gotta get the HP to the prop shaft to get the prop to deliver the thrust necessary to do the job. Torque is an element of the engine design but you can control rpm. Idea is to get the rpm up as fast as you can to get the most out of your engine.