Mercury 50HP 3-CYL 2-stroke Oil Injection Model (2003) Help! (Fuel/oil issue?)

This boat is new to me. I have had it out over 30 times in the past 4-months. Lucky me, she ran great. A week ago I noticed the motor was not as throaty and actually sounded a bit "slushy." It just didn't seem right. I took it out again days later and had a hell of a time starting it (30mins). When it did start is sounded slushy/tired. It would die shortly after sitting at idle. I warmed it up eventually and got it in gear and was able to move no faster than 10 mph at 3/4 to full throttle.

I am no mechanic:
-The oil reservoir doesn't seem to have moved much - could it be too much gas
-I had fresh gas in tank. In fact I usually treat gas with a stabilizer not knowing when I may take boat out again
-I had new plugs, oil, lower unit lube, impeller installed going into spring
-I was able to smell/see fuel in the water the last time I was out, but I confess I left the motor on choke a little longer than I should have potentially choking her out...

Guys,
any feedback would be greatly appreciated. I am up for learning and working on this motor.

Thanks,
Joe

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Oil must go down in the reservoir !------So now the first step to take is a compression test.-----Then run with a 50:1 oil mixture in the fuel tank untill you are 100% sure that oil injection is working.----Hopefully it is not too late.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner