Re: rectifier -tach issue

Hey I'm I'm new to this.. I been trying to figure out how to start a new post or something. I have a 75 mercury inline 6 90hp on a 1985 pro craft 1650 the boat has a medallion tach in it only has a pole says (send) and a pole that says (gnd) I have the send side hooked to Brown from motor and ground hooked to ground. The ground also is ground for the light witch it has a blue wire running from my switch on dash to turn on lights.. can anyone please help I have redone the whole boat and only thing I don't have working is the tach. The boat use to have a 83 mercury inline 6 115 on it but I put my wiring harness and motor on it... Please any help thanks

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner

The two Mercs use the same signal to power the tach. Do you know if you are getting an AC signal out of the stator when the motor is running? I would disconnect the rectifier and then test the tach with the motor running. If you have a signal from the stator, and the tach won't work, perhaps it is incompatible or bad.