1987 Mercury Black Max 200 hp.

belray

Cadet
Hello guys, I just signed on to this site and have been reading treads here for a while. I bought my first boat last June. It's a 1987 Baja ski boat with a 200 horse Mercury. The engine runs great but still has the oil injection system in tact and is almost 27 years old. I have read here that it's a dependable system but with a plastic gear, I'm thinking I should block it off for safety reasons and just premix. So. If I decide to block it off, what kit should I use because I just read that I shouldn't just remove it without using the kit. Also, what are the weak links on this engine? I have read about switch boxes, stators, and triggers. I have been an auto technician for 30 years and have bought the Seloc service manual and tools for flywheel removal. I like to prevent problems before they arise. Thanks for any response.

Iceman66

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 1987 Mercury Black Max 200 hp.

OEM Mercury Mariner 43453T V6 Oil Block Off Kit

Have done it on my 1987 Black Max 150 ,a mercury mecanic strongly advised me,he has overhauled a lot of these engines,
told me that if I did that the engine can run fore almost ever.
Its a easy job to do it,"plug and play".

If you choose not to remove,be sure you use a fully syntetic oil, the cheap mineral ones has a bad habit to become full of
debris through storage in winter. Doesnt help with the alarm module`s shaft sensor when line is plugged with bad oil.

In the kit there is a long plastic "shaft" that prevents the bushing fore the removed original oil pump drive shaft inside engine to fall out and course internal damage.

As long as the engine runs properly, there is no need to do anything with the Ignition parts, just check the wires and there connections from time to time fore corrosion.

Its great engines,Time to take a choise!

Last edited:

racerone

Supreme Mariner