RPM's on a 200 mercury

mkeleher

Seaman
Gentlemen,

How many RPM's should a 200 mercury turn? I'm no mechanic by no means but surely an outboard motor on a high performance boat will turn at lease 5500 easy. Here's the deal, I took my motor to a local "out of his house" mechanic because my motor at WOT would only turn 4000 RPM's with a 25p tempest plus. He tells me I have good spark and compression on all cylinders but that the pitch is too big for this motor and that I need a 23pitch. I listen to him since he is the machanic and get a 23 pitch. Now I only turn 4500 RPM's. I tell him it still wont turn any more than 4500 so he says, bring it back and I'll work on it. One week later he changes out the throttle postioning sensor, 2 injectors, and installs a idle stabalizer. He then tells me 4500 is the best this motor will do and that nothing is wrong with it, oh and that I now owe him 791$. WHAT!!!!!! The motor runs exactly how it ran when I took it to him the first place. I know I need a new mechanic, but what RPM's should I be running and what else could it be? Its a 1991 mercury 2.4 200 Electronic fuel injected on a 19 ft norris craft. The boat will only go 50 with this motor on it. Norris craft tells me the boat was made to go 70 + with a 200 merc. Help please.........

wired247

Lieutenant Commander
Re: RPM's on a 200 mercury

It should go 70+ MPH and the 25 pitch should work fine. He put the idle stabilizer back on? Throw that piece of crap in the garbage or at least disconnect it. What are the compression numbers? What did he set total timing at? It should be 23 BTDC unless you have heavily cut heads. You think he'd at least give you numbers for your $800.

FWIW injectors almost never go bad. You can send them in for cleaning to a few different places for $25 a pop and they come back like new. My 2.0 fat block 150 turns a 21 pitch prop 6000 RPM. It will twist a 17 pitch 6800. I'm building a 2.5 liter 200 EFI right now to be a 7000 RPM motor.