25 hp 2 stroke Mercury 1984. How does it rev in neutral?

SamJar

Recruit
I'm a newbie to boat engines but mechanical minded. I have a 1984 25 merc that I have gotten running but I can't figure out how to rev the engine in neutral. The steering arm has a forward and reverse on the handle and in the middle of that is a "N" for neutral however. It turns left and right fine but goes into gear when you turn it. I can rev the engine with the cowl off by using throttle controls under the cowl. I would think the handle pulls or pushes in or out but it does not. There are no levers on the side of the engine. Anyone remember how to do this? Thanks

lexjam

Recruit
Re: 25 hp 2 stroke Mercury 1984. How does it rev in neutral?

You should have a knob on front of the engine left side. twist to the right fully makes it choke. you should feel the indent latch in. just off of full right hand feeling the indent disenguage should be max idle. hope this helps

MH Hawker

Vice Admiral

Their is whats know as a fast idle arm or a warm up arm, but it depends on what controller you have. If the controller is in neutral on some you can lift the arm on others you push in a button to disengage the shift cables and move the gear selector as a warm up.

racerone

Supreme Mariner

Sorry, but the OP says that it is a tiller motor , not a remote control.

oldman570

Lieutenant Commander