Ventilation from bent prop shaft or power head ?

Hi first post here. I'm a real newbie. I have purchased a 20ft triton with a 2006 Merc Pro XS 225. All of a sudden the boat will not come up (or will barely) come up on plane. The nose goes way up and it throws water ten foot high. But unless I just go WOT and hold it there it won't get the nose out of the air. When I do go WOT it takes about 3-4 minutes to come up on plane all the time throwing water straight up and vibrating the boat tremendously (trim is all the way in/down). The local boat retailer said it was a bent prop shaft. I decided in a genius :facepalm: moment to figure it out myself. I have completely torn down the lower unit. There was water in the oil, the prop shaft was 5 thousandths off (tolerance is 7 thousandths) but no gear damage and no bearing issues. Now I'm putting this together (with new prop shaft and drive shaft, new seals, and some new bearings) and I'm questioning whether I have chased the wrong cat up the wrong tree. Could this be a power head issue? How do I check for that? Anyone had this experience before? Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited:

Dukedog

Captain
Re: Ventilation from bent prop shaft or power head ?

Wrong cat.... A prop shaft bent bad enough ta do that would take out seals and internals pretty quick. Not a ph problem either unless your down on rpms at launch. Have you noticed any difference in that area? Prop/hub and/or trim type problem. Shouldn't get any kinda continuous "rooster tail" and/or "bow in tha air" when its sucked up tight against tha boat

Thanks for the reply Dukedog. No issue with RPM's at launch. Trimmed it all out/up and back in/down several times to be sure of where the prop was at launch. I can't really say it was a rooster tail. Really more of a splashing and vibrating. Not sure, stumped. Any other ideas? Thoughts?

Dukedog

Captain

Donno? Kinda leaves me in tha truck without really being there...............

MH Hawker

Vice Admiral