Mariner 40/30 jet leaking oil

riverjunction

Recruit
I'm looking at buying a mariner 40/30jet 3 cyl 2stroke to put on a 1648 MV alumacraft with pods and console.

The motor was used regularly in 2011 summer months and sat all summer 2012. With a trickle charge slowly fired up this spring and has been used 5 or 6 times this summer. Runs strong, has good compression in all cylinders (119psi), but seeps small amounts of oil.

What causes this?

Easy/inexpensive fix?

Other common issues with the mariner jet outboards?

Any and all helpful responses are much appreciated as I'm new to this... Thanks!

Mi duckdown

Commander
Re: Mariner 40/30 jet leaking oil

Unburnt fuel. RUN it. But I would change the water pump impellar. jets are a little more work to Do.
We are talking about a outboard with a jet, instead of a prop drive, correct????

Last edited:

canoemang

Petty Officer 1st Class

The water pump impeller is as easy as one with a prop or jet.. Same housing and parts etc..

Mi duckdown

Commander

Sort of. BUT removing the Pancake jet is alittle different.

Last edited:

riverjunction

Recruit

Unburnt fuel. RUN it. But I would change the water pump impellar. jets are a little more work to Do.
We are talking about a outboard with a jet, instead of a prop drive, correct????

Yes. Outboard with jet drive, not prop. Is water pump impeller a chore to change? Does that tent to be expensive for parts and labor? If I choose to buy it the local marina will be doing all of the servicing. Thanks..

canoemang

Petty Officer 1st Class

Sort of. BUT removing the Pancake jet is alittle different.

Pancake jet? i am new to this term.

I am talking about the jet drives from outboardjets.com, I have owned several over the years and its the same. If your swapping the LU from prop to jet you even use the impeller housing off the propped lu.