2002 Mercury 40hp gear linkage removal question

NoStress

Cadet
Hello, I am new to this forum but I have read a lot of the posts over the years.

I have a 2002 Boston Whaler 130 Super Sport with a 40hp Mercury engine (same year as boat and trailer)

The boat is rarely used (36 hours) as I am new to boating and have trouble backing. This would be a different problem all together!!

My problem...well one of many...I ran my motor for the first time since getting a flywheel and water pump replacement last year. The motor does not **** water out. It is not clogged as I can put water on the top of the engine and water comes out normal. My alarm comes on saying it is overheating.

Just for the record, I have had trouble twice at the repair shop (big brand); so I am thinking the water pump replacement probably iS not correct.

I went on You-tube and watched some videos how to lower the lower end. Looked easy...I lowered about 3 inches then discovered the gear linkage is still connected!

I attempted to push the lower end back up but met resistance. I had my daughter put the gear shifter in FORWARD, the lower end went back up. Now my gear shifter does not work properly but it (I think!) should fix once I remove the linkage properly.

Again I went online to research my dilemma and saw a few posts with pictures of a release I need to raise then push the rod to the left?! I cannot find the area this linkage release is located. I removed ( not disconnected) the front electrical misc to look behind but found not what I am looking for.

Can someone please guide this lost soul?! I need the info "DummyDown" for me!

My engine serial number is : 40ELPTEFI. OT583468

Sincerely,
Greg

oldman570

Lieutenant Commander
Re: 2002 Mercury 40hp gear linkage removal question