Mercury 150 XRi stalling out, won't plane boat

tatage0201

Cadet
I am attempting to revive my dad's old bass boat that has been idle for the past 2 years. The outboard is a 1994 Mercury 150 XRi which I have been working on for the last 6 months. The serial number is 0G052141.

The first thing I did was to disconnect the line from the tank and ran it into some fresh gas. I also replaced the spark plugs. The engine wouldn't crank so I began tracing the fuel to find out that the VST tank needle was stuck. I cleaned this up and finally got the motor to turn over and start running. I removed the old gas out of the tank and filled the tank with fresh gas. I launched the boat and began to start to plane out. The motor ran like everything was in tune and I was going good for about a minute or so. All of a sudden I lost power (not completely) and the boat came off plane and would not get back up past half throttle even though I had it pegged. It would run at half throttle and occasionally jump like it was going to take back off.

I returned back home and suspected that something had clogged the fuel line somewhere so I then rebuilt the pulse pump with a new diaphragm kit and I replaced the fuel/water separator. I pulled the injectors and cleaned them (they didn't look dirty at all). I tested the injectors with 9 volts per the SELOC manual I have and each one clicked and emitted some fuel so i assume they are all ok. All spark plugs seem to fire when I turn over the engine. I pulled each one and connected back to the coil to test for spark as someone turned the key switch. I replaced the primer bulb as well.

I went back out on the water and started exactly where I left off. The boat did not plane at all and would actually start to stall at full throttle and kill. I would pull off the throttle a little bit from full and the boat would run steady at mid throttle and occasionally slightly jump like it would try to take off.